The Spice Trail: a new monthly event for food bloggers

spice trail badge long

Celebrate cooking with spices and win a Mexican recipe box

This month a new challenge comes to Bangers & Mash: The Spice Trail – a monthly food bloggers’ event, showcasing dishes from all around the world that celebrate cooking with spices. In case you hadn’t noticed, I’m ever so slightly partial to cooking with spices myself. Being a family cook with two daughters (aged five and eight), some people are surprised at how much spice features in my food and I’m often asked how I persuade my children to eat spicy food or whether I have to prepare them separate meals in order to satisfy my personal spice cravings. Thankfully my girls are pretty adventurous most of the time. They were introduced to spices when I was weaning them onto solid foods, and possibly even earlier – when they were in the womb. (Both babies were overdue and I consumed an awful lot of spicy curries in those final days of pregnancy hoping to bring on labour!) Jess and Mia might not always be up for hotter, pungent spices but they’re more than happy to tuck into foods flavoured with spices like coriander, cumin, paprika, cardamom, turmeric, cinnamon – the list goes on. Family food doesn’t have to be bland food. So through this new challenge, I plan to offer you some of the beautifully spiced foods I like to feed my family – and I hope you will join in and share your favourite spicy foods too. Every month there will be a different theme; sometimes a specific spice, other times a particular world cuisine or type of food.

November’s challenge: cooking with chillies

To launch The Spice Trail, our first month’s theme is Cooking with Chillies and I’m really excited to see what delicious chilli recipes you have up your sleeves. My husband and I are both self-confessed chilli-heads and it’ll be fantastic for us to have a stock of new chilli recipes to work our way through. cooking with chilli Technically, chillies are only classed as a spice when they are dried or powdered, but I’m more than happy to accept recipes this month featuring fresh chillies as well. Quite simply, I love chilli in any form!

Win a Kitchen Nomad Mexican recipe box

kitchennomadmexico

Think of chilli and probably one of the first cuisines that comes to mind will be Mexican. That’s why I’ve teamed up with Kitchen Nomad for the winning prize for this first challenge, as their recipe box this month is full of the hot and spicy flavours of Mexico. The recipes in Kitchen Nomad’s Mexican box are from Thomasina Miers, an English cook, writer and television presenter. In 2005 she won the BBC cookery competition MasterChef, and she is founder of the Wahaca chain of Mexican street food restaurants. Dishes include stuffed chillies, black bean soup, rajas tacos and chilli honey crumble. I subscribe to Kitchen Nomad’s boxes and I am thoroughly enjoying working my way thorugh this month’s recipes and ingredients.

How to enter The Spice Trail

spice trail badge square Display the The Spice Trail badge (on the left and also available here) on your recipe post, and link back to this challenge post. You may enter as many recipe links as you like, so long as they feature this month’s key ingredient – chilli (fresh, dried or powdered). Send your recipe URL to me at vanesther-at-reescommunications-dot-co-dot-uk, including your own email address and the title of your recipe or post. The closing date this month is Thursday 28 November 2013. If you tweet your post, please mention #TheSpiceTrail and me @BangerMashChat in your tweet and I’ll retweet each one I see. Feel free to republish old recipe posts, but please add the information about this challenge and The Spice Trail badge. As entries come in, links to these will be added to this page. At the end of the month a guest judge will choose a winning recipe and the winner this month will receive a fabulous Mexican-themed food box from the good people at Kitchen Nomad. The winner will be announced in a monthly round-up of all the entries. All entries will be added to The Spice Trail Pinterest Board. I can’t wait to see what dishes you come up with for The Spice Trail. Any questions, please tweet or email me.

November’s entries:

  1. Slow Cooked Mexican Style Beef from Mamacook
  2. Kinda Vietnamese Chicken Salad from Mamacook
  3. Pineapple, Cinnamon & Red Chilli Frozen Yoghurt from Deena Kakaya
  4. Sweet Lychee and Hot Chilli Dipping Sauce from Deena Kakaya
  5. Chilli Oil with an Indian Accent from Deena Kakaya
  6. Lamb, Butternut & Apricot Tagine from Eat Your Veg
  7. Homemade Harissa from Chef Mireille’s Global Creations
  8. Chilli, Ginger & Persimmon Tarts from Chocolate Log Blog
  9. Slow Cooker Coconut Lentil Curry from Recipes from a Pantry
  10. Lamb Curry from My Golden Pear
  11. Plantain Peanut Soup from Chef Mireille’s Global Creations
  12. Sicilian Style Beef Chilli Pasta from Spurs Cook

  13. Cheryl’s Paella from Bangers & Mash
  14. Chocolate & Chestnut Spiced Loaf from Blue Kitchen Bakes
  15. Vegan Spiced Parsnip Samosa Pies from Allotment 2 Kitchen
  16. Pork Meatballs and Pasta from Searching for Spice
  17. Creamy Vegetable Soup from Chef Mireille’s Global Creations
  18. Tagliatelle with Lamb’s Liver from Bangers & Mash
  19. Smoked Mozzarella & Chipotle Cornbread from Fromage Homage
  20. Chilli con Carne from Jibber Jabber UK
  21. Luchito Honey Glazed Ham from Eat Your Veg
  22. Winter Root Soup with Spiced Tadka from Cook Eat Write

  23. Chilli Beef Pie with Spicy Potato Wedges from Bangers & Mash
  24. Joe’s Homemade Baked Beans from Eat Your Veg
  25. Chilli Con Carne with Black Bean Sauce from Reluctant Housedad’s Recipe Shed
  26. Peri Peri Sauce from My Golden Pear
  27. Scotch Bonnet Sauce from Tales from the Kitchen Shed

22 thoughts on “The Spice Trail: a new monthly event for food bloggers

    1. Thanks Shaheen – so hope you do enter something. And I’ve just checked out the Savoury Vegetable Cakes you entered for Family Foodies – they look absolutely delicious.

  1. Great challenge and will work so well with cooking with herbs too, which is nice! I will be joining in! Karen

Leave a comment