The Spice Trail: your favourite paprika recipes

Paprika Collage

Well, it seems I am not the only person who enjoys cooking with paprika. January’s Spice Trail challenge received a bumper bag of spicy paprika dishes, from bread and biscuits to meaty casseroles, tasty pasta, warming soups and a whole host of exciting vegetarian dishes. So let’s get this show on the road and take a look at this month’s round-up…

Cheese and Paprika biscuits

Savoury Cheese and Paprika Biscuits from Searching for Spice

Strong Cheddar cheese and paprika are a perfect match, as in these lovely savoury biscuits from Corina at Searching for Spice. Corina recently took these to a gathering at a friend’s house and, even though they weren’t the only cheesy biscuits on offer, hers were the first to go. I can see why!

vegetable burgers

Vegetable Burgers from The Crazy Kitchen

Helen from The Crazy Kitchen brings two dishes to this month’s paprika party. First up are her vibrant vegetable burgers, and while they might be cheap and cheerful, using a bag of frozen veg and a tin of baked beans as their main ingredients, I bet they taste a million dollars. The secret’s in the spicing, which features garam masala, chilli and fresh coriander as well as paprika.

veggie sausageless rolls

Veggie Sausageless Rolls from The Crazy Kitchen

Helen’s second entry come in the form of these cute little sausageless rolls, based on very similar ingredients to her vegetable burgers. As well as being beautifully spiced, these tempting little rolls are also an ideal way to sneak veggies into unsuspecting little ones. I know I’d have no arguments getting my girls to eat a plate of these.

couscous salad with chermoula dressing

Couscous Salad with Chermoula Dressing from Spices Galore

Gayathri from Spices Galore offers us this stunning couscous salad with a chermoula dressing, laden with gorgeous herbs and spices, such as cilantro, mint, cumin, coriander and, of course, lots of lovely paprika. This tasty salad has to be as good for you on this inside as it looks on the outside.

chermoula marinated halloumi

Chermoula Marinated Halloumi from Deena Kakaya

There’s more chermoula on the menu next, this time a sumptuous chermoula marinated halloumi from Deena Kakaya who I think is as much of an artist when it comes to preparing food as she is a cook. Her dishes always look incredible. The fresh Moroccan herb and spice mix sounds like a fabulous foil for the soft, salty halloumi and sweet apricot in this dish. As Deena says herself – lip-smacking!

cauliflower-fritters1

Pan-fried Creole Cauliflower Fritters from Food to Glow

Paprika works wonderfully with cauliflower, as in this delightful Creole cauliflower fritters from Kellie at Food to Glow, which boasts no less than three types of paprika in its Creole blend seasoning. I’m really enjoying experimenting with cauliflower recipes at the moment, and these fritters are definitely next on my list to try.

Paprika and Cocoa Roasted Cauliflower

Paprika and Cocoa Roasted Cauliflower from Chocolate Log Blog

There’s more cauliflower up next from Choclette at Chocolate Log Blog and while I might be familiar with cauliflower teamed with paprika, throwing cocoa into the mix provides a much more unusual twist to the proceedings. But, of course, it wouldn’t be a Choclette recipe without a hint of chocolate in there somewhere. Cornish cauliflower is tossed in oil and dusted with Himalayan pink salt, black pepper, cocoa and paprika and simply roasted in the oven, resulting in a wonderful nutty flavour. I am absolutely intrigued and will have to try this out for myself very soon.

roasted brocolli

Roasted Broccoli with Toasted Almonds and a Smoky Paprika Dressing from Selma’s Table

Selma from Selma’s Table has also been roasting vegetables – this time we’re served some delicious roasted broccoli with toasted almonds and a sexy smoked paprika dressing. This would be an excellent side dish but I think it looks good enough to eat on its own, and the dressing also makes a great marinade for chicken or fish, or can be used to “perk up” potatoes.

Vegetarian Lasagne

Vegetarian Lasagne from Nomsies Kitchen

Ai Lin from Nomsies Kitchen offers us a hearty winter warmer with her tasty vegetarian lasagne. Doesn’t that cooked cheese look so good on top of all those succulent, spiced vegetables? Ever since a little girl, lasagne has been one of my favourite meals, and Ai Lin’s veggie version looks a real treat.

Paprika Mushroom Pie

Deep Paprika Mushroom and Butter Bean Pies from Allotment 2 Kitchen

Shaheen from Allotment 2 Kitchen always makes beautiful pies and her rich and creamy mushroom and butter bean pie is no exception. Shaheen says she often makes paprika mushroom and potato pies but felt it was time to ring the changes and swapped the potato for butter beans, which she describes as “a lovely change from the stodge of the potatoes”. To be honest, I’d be more than happy eating either.

cheesy chickpea dip
Vegan Cheesy Chickpea Dip with Coconut Bacon from The Taste Space

I am totally intrigued by the coconut bacon topping this cheesy chickpea dip from Janet at The Taste Space; it’s something I’ve never come across before but does sound rather wonderful. Coconut flakes are flavoured with tamari (or soy sauce), liquid smoke, maple syrup and smoked paprika to create the wonderful smokey coconut bacon chips, which you can then use as a crunchy topping for all kinds of dips and I guess salads too. Janet’s chickpea dip sounds marvellous too.

fried eggs with paprika lapin d'or

Eggs and Paprika from Lapin d’Or and More

Lapin d’Or brings us not one, not two but three variations on eggs and paprika. As someone who could probably survive on eggs alone, I’m very happy about this. There’s paprika roast potatoes with fried egg, a classic egg mayonnaise spiced up with a good sprinkling of paprika, and eggs fried in bacon fat and seasoned with, well what else? Paprika.

roast cauliflower cheese soup

Roast Cauliflower Cheese Soup from Bangers & Mash

As I said earlier, paprika partners well with cauliflower and this pairing appears again here in my roast cauliflower cheese soup, a slightly different take on that winter warmer classic. And of course cheese and paprika is another winning combination, so this really is a bowl of comfort food at its best in my eyes.

chipotle black bean soupChipotle Black Bean Soup with Orange & Red Onion Salsa from Spices Galore

Gayathri from Spices Galore is back with another vibrant dish, this time a Mexican style black bean soup spiced with beautiful smoky chipotle chillies, paprika and cocoa – yes, another appearance! Served with a colourful orange and red onion salsa, this soup is as pleasing on the eye as I imagine it would be on the tastebuds.

spicy potatoes chorizo and sea bass

Spicy Potatoes, Chorizo and Peppers with Pan Fried Sea Bass from Julie’s Family Kitchen

This pan fried sea bass from Julie at Julie’s Family Kitchen brings us a fresh taste of summer despite the damp, chilly weather here in the UK right now. The Spanish style marriage of fish with chorizo and spices sounds just heavenly and a wonderful way to cheer up these grey days.

venison goulash

Venison Goulash with Herb Dumplings from Mrs Portly’s Kitchen

Think of paprika and one of the first dishes that comes to mind might well be a goulash. Linda from Mrs Portly’s Kitchen might not claim this to be an authentic Hungarian goulash perhaps, but it is extremely tasty and the perfect winter comfort food nonetheless. And I just love the sound of her light and fluffy herb dumplings.

goulash

Jacki’s Hungarian Goulash from Jacki Harrison-Stanley

Another helping of goulash next from Jacki Harrison-Stanley. As Jacki doesn’t blog herself, I volunteered to cook the recipe she entered into The Spice Trail and I can vouch for the fact this mildly spiced goulash with beautifully tender, slow cooked beef is a real crowd pleaser and my family scoffed the lot very happily.

pork fricassee

Easy Paprika Pork Fricassee from The Hedge Combers

This next dish, a pork fricassee from Janie at The Hedge Combers, is such a gregarious burst of colour on the plate, you know by looking at it how good it’s going make you feel and how good it’s going to taste. I think pork and paprika are perfect bed fellows but Janie reckons the smoked paprika sauce is also “man enough to stand up to a completely meat free dish”.

paprika beans and chorizo

Smoked Paprika Beans & Chorizo from Julie’s Family Kitchen

Julie from Julie’s Family Kitchen returns with another extremely pretty plate, this time smoked paprika beans and chorizo. The dish was inspired by a meal at an Italian restaurant, although after playing with the ingredients she has ended up with something a little more Spanish sounding. I love the way our experiments in the kitchen can do that sometimes.

chorizo and vegetable stromboli

Chorizo and Vegetable Stromboli from Utterly Scrummy Food for Families

Michelle from Utterly Scrummy presents us with another splendid splash of colour and another helping of chorizo in this glorious stromboli. I’d never heard of stromboli before but now understand it to be a “Swiss Roll type savoury filled bread thing” – Michelle’s words! The combination of soft, succulent roasted vegetables, herb, spices, oozy cheese and smoky chorizo sounds like heaven on a plate to me.

sausage stroganoff

Sausage Stroganoff from My Golden Pear

Having a slight penchant for sausages, you won’t be surprised that I’m rather taken with this sausage stroganoff from Angela at My Golden Pear. Sausages are a great budget alternative to more expensive cuts of meat when it comes to cooking stews and casseroles; the best quality sausages you can afford will always be cheaper than the equivalent weight of lamb or beef. As well as cheap, Angela’s stroganoff is also simple, quick, and tasty. Definitely my kind of food.

Pulled-Pork-with-a-Spicy-Rub-600x397

Pulled Pork with a Spicy Rub from Lavender & Lovage

I come over all Homer Simpson when I look at this incredible plate of pulled pork from Karen at Lavender & Lovage. Isn’t this just utterly droolsworthy? Karen says the secret to this recipe, which comes from the Ginger Pig Farmhouse Cookbook, is to use good quality free-range British pork, along with this delectable spicy rub made from a tantalising assortment of herbs, seasonings and spices, including mustard, garlic, chilli, cumin, celery and fennel seeds and, of course, smoked paprika.

paprika-schnitzel

Paprika Schnitzel from The Lass in the Apron

Here is another classic Hungarian paprika dish from Alexandra, aka The Lass in the Apron. Her fantastic veal schnitzels are served with a beautiful scarlet-hued sauce made from soured cream, onion and paprika, a trio common in Hungarian cookery. I haven’t eaten schnitzel for many years, but I think it is definitely time to remedy that and I think this might be just the recipe to try.

pork stroganoff thingy

Pork Stroganoff Kinda Thingy from Spurs Cook

Martin the Spurs Cook has brought another stroganoff to our paprika feast, featuring both sweet and smoked paprika and a whole host of fresh and dried herbs. I bet it tastes simply divine and just the kind of food I’m yearning for as the rain lashes our house here in Somerset.

sausage apple casserole

Sausage and Apple Casserole from JibberJabberUK

More sausages up next to keep me content, this time in the form of a wonderful sausage and apple casserole from Ness at JibberJabberUK. I love apples with my pork chops but I’ve never thought to add them to a sausage casserole, so I look forward to trying this out myself. And of course the paprika and wholegrain mustard in there help to make this a gorgeous winter warmer.

spicy sausage pasta

Spicy Sausage Pasta from Bangers & Mash

Yet more sausages on the menu, this time in a spicy sausage pasta from yours truly. This is one of my all-time favourite meals. It’s rich, tasty, spicy and incredibly easy to make. Perfect, in my eyes.

Chicken-Paprika

Chicken Paprika from My Golden Pear

Angela from My Golden Pear is treating us with another amazing paprika dish from her kitchen, along with more stunning photography. Her images always make me so hungry; I want to reach my hand into the computer screen and grab a taste. In Angela’s dish, succulent chicken thighs are coated in breadcrumbs, cheese, paprika and garlic, and then baked until golden and crispy.  She suggests they might be a kind of grown up version of chicken nuggets. Only so much more tempting.

Eat-Your-Veg-_-Homemade-Popcorn

Paprika and Parmesan Popcorn from Eat Your Veg

As I may well have said before, cheese and paprika go together very well, but I’ve never seen them brought together as flavouring for popcorn. But that’s exactly what Louisa from Eat Your Veg has done and the outcome sounds absolutely scrummy. I can’t wait to organise a movie night for my daughters and their friends so I can serve them some of this. I know they’re going to adore it.

paprika swirls

Sweet Paprika and Walnut Swirls from Tales from the Kitchen Shed

I wasn’t really expecting to receive any sweet entries to this month’s Spice Trail challenge, but are final two dishes provide a lovely sweet finale to our spicy paprika feast. These paprika and walnut swirls from Sarah at Tales from the Kitchen Shed look just gorgeous and are inspired by Hungarian Paprikas Kalacs, which translates as paprika bread. This traditional paprika bread is shaped like a Swiss roll and is flaky due to the high lard content. Sarah has cleverly adapted the idea, using her own sweet dough recipe, with a lovely tender crumb, as well as creating a sweet paprika flavoured sugar cream. I don’t believe I’ve ever tried paprika in a sweet dish but that’s about to change as I plan to make these pretty swirls very soon.

dark chocolate and paprika cookie

Dark Chocolate and Paprika Cookies from The Garden Deli

Last but most definitely not least, for the pudding course of our amazing paprika banquet, Sarah from The Garden Deli has baked us a big batch of these irresistibly naughty dark chocolate and paprika cookies. While I’m a big fan of chilli and chocolate, paprika and chocolate is a new one on me but I can imagine they taste fantastic together. Another recipe I will be having a go at very soon. And what a marvellous way to end our round-up.

This month’s winner

I was thrilled with the dishes entered for the paprika challenge, all of which look so delicious, and such a varied collection of dishes too. But there can only be one winner for this month’s Spice Trail. Or can there?

The winner is set to receive a very cool gift bag from the generous souls at The Cool Chile Co, and so I passed the tricky task of choosing a winner on to them. This is what Kelly from Cool Chile had to say:

“It was a really close call and we finally narrowed it down to two. So we would like to have two winners!

“The first winner is Food to Glow for her Pan-fried Creole Cauliflower Fritters. We really liked this recipe and loved the fact that the humble cauliflower was the star of the show. The idea of the crispy, crunchy cauliflower, with the well-balanced Creole seasoning, tucked in a soft bun with crispy lettuce is a real winner for us.

“We also liked the Chermoula Marinated Halloumi from Deena Kakaya. This recipe had great flavour combinations and the balance of salty, sweet and spicy made this dish a real contender.”

Huge congratulations to both Deena and Kellie from Food to Glow for their extremely well-deserved wins. Email me your addresses and Cool Chile will send out your fabulous gift bags very soon. And thanks so much to The Cool Chile Co for their wonderful generosity in offering up not one, but two prizes this month.

Our journey along The Spice Trail continues in February as we celebrate cooking with caraway. What dish will you enter next?

spice trail badge long

28 thoughts on “The Spice Trail: your favourite paprika recipes

  1. Wow! So chuffed to have been picked with Deena – love Deena! – for the Cool Chile Co gift bag. I LOVE spice so this is a fantastic treat. Thank you so much! I’ll be in touch with my address 🙂

      1. It’s an interesting one, for sure. I don’t think sprinkling it in my steamed cabbage counts as a recipe so I’ll have to give it a bit of thought!

  2. Lots of great recipes – the paprika will no longer be a forgotten spice at the back of the cupboard. Congratulations to both of the winners, they are top of my list of recipes to try!

  3. All of these fabulous dishes are just what’s needed in the ghastly gloom we are finding ourselves in – hard to feel gloomy when you have a plate full of delicious spiciness in front of you. I am intrigued by the paprika swirls and might have to try those out for myself.

  4. I’m a massive fan of paprika, especially smoked paprika. Don’t know how I managed to miss this challenge. Lots of good ideas to bookmark though.

  5. far too many delicious recipes here – and like janice I love smoked paprika. Unlike janice I am useless at challenges…another time perhaps I’ll get there!

  6. Gosh, what a fabulous array of paprika recipes! Big smoked paprika fan too, sweet or hot. Shall be busy pinning away. Great choice of winners too, both looks yummily divine! Congrats Deena & Kellie!

  7. Thanks for a lovely round up Vanesther. I have a bit of catching up to do on my reading this month, so I’m a bit late. You had some great recipes this month. I have to say, I love smoked paprika with chocolate, so I’m not at all surprised to see you had a couple of sweet recipes.
    I’m a bit stumped for caraway, but I have a few days to come up with something yet 🙂

Leave a comment