Christmas pudding ice cream – the perfect way to use up your leftover pud

This is my last festive recipe before I take a short break from blogging for the Christmas holidays. It’s such a quick and easy recipe – quite frankly, it barely qualifies as a recipe at all – and is a great way to use up any left over Christmas pudding.

It isn’t the first time this recipe has featured on Bangers & Mash. It first appeared back in January, but those were very early days for the blog; days when I still thought I could get away with my own doodles instead of photography! But it is such a genius dessert, I think it’s well worth repeating.

I like the idea of Christmas pudding much more than the pudding itself. I love the flavours but the actual pudding is just too dense and stodgy. Mix it with ice cream and alcohol though, and hey presto! You have yourself a much lighter but equally festive dessert. You can use whatever spirit or liquer takes your fancy really. I went with a delicious apple brandy made here in my home county of Somerset. I also made an alcohol-free batch for the kids.

As this pudding features that timeless combination of booze and ice cream, I’m entering it into Kavey Eats’ Bloggers Scream for Ice Cream challenge for December, the theme of which is, of course, booze – well, what else could it be this time of year?

no food waste challenge

I’m also entering it into the No Waste Food Challenge, where the theme is Christmas Dinner leftovers. This challenge is the brainchild of Kate at Turquoise Lemons and this month is hosted by Elizabeth at Elizabeth’s Kitchen Diary.

Christmas pudding ice cream

1 small Christmas pudding
2 litres good vanilla ice cream
Slug of brandy (or whatever festive liquer or spirit you have around)

Cook your pud according to the packet instructions and allow to cool. Leave the ice cream at room temperature to soften a little before adding chopped up pieces of the pudding and brandy. Mix well.

Then simply pour into your container of choice and freeze for at least a couple of hours. Enjoy!

Here’s to a merrily delicious Christmas everyone. Peace and love to you and yours.

7 thoughts on “Christmas pudding ice cream – the perfect way to use up your leftover pud

    1. Thanks Sarah – yes stupidly easy. Definitely a good one to have up your sleeve at this busy time of year. And yes, have managed to find plenty of time to enjoy lots during the festivities. Will need to return to the old running regime in full force in the new year to make up for it! 😉

  1. I did something similar a few years ago, but that time I made my own custard. These days I often use ready-made custard for quick ice creams and it’s a great cheat without losing quality or taste. I cubed my leftover pudding and soaked it in brandy for a while before dropping the pieces into the custard as it churned. SO GOOD and a perfect idea for the boozy theme this month!

Leave a comment